Lund University's Research Quality Evaluation Project 2020

Project organisation

Project managers

Freddy Ståhlberg is professor of MR Physics and has also been a member of the University Board.
Mats Benner is professor of Research Policy and has participated in many higher education policy investigations and reports.

Project coordinator

Malin Bredenberg, Research Administrator, Research Services

Research funding advisor

Brita Larsson, Head of Department, Research Services

Reference groups and panels

The project managers have a reference group, which acts as a sounding board for ideas and ambitions. It also takes the process forward to their deans, who are to propose how their areas are to be divided up into different panels and evaluation units, which in RQ20 are called research environments.
The number of panels is based on the size of the faculties. The Faculty of Medicine and Faculty of Engineering (LTH) get nine panels each and MAX IV one panel. The Faculty of Science gets six panels, Social Science four and Humanities and Theology three. The School of Economics and Management gets two, and Law and Fine and Performing Arts one each.

Every panel will have several research environments/evaluation units in which the self-evaluations will be conducted. Subsequently, each panel will be assigned four to six external advisors or assessors by RQ20’s management in consultation with the research environments.The important thing is that the people are credible and strong within their respective fields of research and are seen as being in an advisory role rather than a dispenser of grades.

The evaluation will keep to certain basic facts on finance and bibliometrics: financial status, number of publications, and, if it is a relevant measurement, the citation trend.
The main part of the work concerns the research environments identifying their own strengths, weaknesses and development opportunities, on which they will then receive feedback from the external reviewers. The focus is not going to be just on maintaining minimum levels of quality management, but on what enables research at the highest international level.

The reference group consists of:

Ylva Hofvander Trulsson, Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts
Almut Kelber, Faculty of Science (until 31 December 2019)
Per Persson, Faculty of Science (from 1 January 2020)
Sven Mattisson, Faculty of Engineering
Titti Mattsson, Faculty of Law
Anna Meeuwisse, Faculty of Social Sciences
Fredrik Sjöholm, Faculty of Economics and Management
Sven Strömqvist, Faculty of Humanities and Theology
Gunilla Westergren-Thorsson, Faculty of Medicine
Marjolein Thunnissen, MAX IV
Tim Djärf, student representative